top of page

Hamilton will not be the first champion to drive for Ferrari

Lewis Hamilton will be a Ferrari driver at 2025 Formula 1 season. The Englishman leaves Mercedes and goes to the team in Maranello. The seven-time world champion follows the same path that Juan Manuel Fangio followed in 1955, swapping Mercedes for Ferrari.

But Lewis is not the first to arrive in Maranello with F1 world titles; he follows the same path as Alain Prost (1985/86/89/93), Fernando Alonso (2005/06), Giuseppe Farina (1950), Juan Manuel Fangio (1951/54/55/56/57), Michael Schumacher (1994/95/2000/01/02/03/04) and Sebastian Vettel (2010/11/12/13).

The difference of these six is that only Prost, Fangio, Schumacher and Vettel had win a Formula 1 title and transferred to Ferrari the following season. Another curiosity about this subject: only Juan Manuel Fangio and Michael Schumacher won titles with Ferrari.

Giuseppe Farina

World champion in 1950, the Italian went to Ferrari in 1952 and finish as a rummer-up that season. Farina had Just one victory with Ferrari – German GP in 1953.

Juan Manuel Fangio

In 1955, after being three-times world champion and becoming, at the time, the driver with the most titles in F1, Fangio decided to leave Mercedes after two consecutive titles and go to Ferrari the following season. The success was great: three victories (in 8 Grands Prix) and the 1956 world title. The following year, he moved to Maserati and won his fifth championship.

Alain Prost

After winning the 1989 world championship with McLaren, after a full year with a lot of  conflicts with his teammate Ayrton Senna, which culminated in a sad outcome in Suzuka (Japan), the Frenchman agreed with Ferrari for the 1990 season. He was runner-up to Senna (who continued at McLaren), in a frightening outcome also in Suzuka. Prost did not make all 1991 season because, after constant complaints about the team's performance, he was fired before his contract was up. Prost leaved Ferrari with 5 wins for Maranello. Out of F1 in 1992, he returned in 93 and with Williams he was four-time world champion.

Fernando Alonso

After became double world Champion in 2005 and 2006 with Renault, Alonso moved to McLaren the next season. In the team from Woking, he had a big conflit with Lewis Hamilton (rookie in 2007). He returned to Renault. Only in 2010, he signed with Ferrari. In 5 years, the Spanish got 11 victories and 3 runner-ups (2010/12/13). After that, he rejoined McLaren and drove to Alpine. Nowadays, he drive for Aston Martin.

Michael Schumacher

After became double world Champion (1994/95) with Benetton, Michael Schumacher moved to Ferrari in 1996. He fight for the title in 1997 and 1998. Schumacher made history after winning 5  world titles in sequence (2000/01/02/03/04). He had 72 Grands Prix's wins with Ferrari. Michael also drove to Mercedes in 2010, 11 and 12.

Sebastian Vettel

The German driver won four world titles (2010/11/12/13) with Red Bull Team. Vettel decided to move to Ferrari for 2015 season. In six years, he got 14 wins and 2 runner-up. In 2021, he went to Aston Martin to ended his F1 carrear in 2022.

Mario Andretti

There is still Mario Andretti’s case. The American driver debuted for Ferrari in 1972 and left in 1973. He drove for Parnelli and then for Lotus, when he became world champion in 1978. He returned to Ferrari in 1982 for driving for only 2 Grands Prix.


bottom of page