top of page

Gabriel Casagrande is double champion of Stock Car

Gabriel Casagrande (#83, A.Mattheis/Vogel Team) won his second title in the Stock Car Pro Series this Sunday (17/12), in Interlagos, São Paulo. For the second time in three seasons (2021/23), the driver combined great performance and great consistency to win the title. In the team of Mauro Vogel and Andreas Mattheis, the 28-year-old driver now equals the number of titles held by Giuliano Losacco (2004/05) and Rubens Barrichello (2014/22).

Pic: Duda Bairros

The last round of the championship for Casagrande was marked by a very intense dispute with Rafael Suzuki (#8, Pole Motorsport Team) on the last lap of race 1. Gabriel finish third, while his main rival this year, Daniel Serra (#29, Eurofarma RC Team), was fifth. In the second race, he was extremely conservative and finish 21st, while Serra was far from the result needed to be champion — Daniel had to win the race 2 — and finished 12th.

“I have to thank God for the gift of life and for giving me the opportunity and the ability to be here once again doing this. I love my family, who always supports me when I'm angry at home without racing... I thank my sponsors, who make this happen, to everyone who is cheering at home. All energy is very welcome. We are two-time champions and we are going for more”, said Casagrande.

Pics: Victor Eleutério (L and C) and Magnus Torquato (R)

Casagrande's 2023 title was built by three victories, two poles, seven podiums, two fastest laps and 14 appearances in the top ten group. Gabriel scored 308 points, while runner-up Daniel Serra finished the season with 296.

Pic: Duda Bairros

Having a runner-up like Daniel Serra, one of the most complete drivers in Brazil, ends up valuing Casagrande's achievement even more. Three-time champion Serra said “Me and Eurofarma RC Team have been together for seven years: seven years fighting for the championship. We were runner-up three times, champion three times and third place once. We didn't lose the title today, but during the season. There came a time when we thought we wouldn't even fight for the title anymore, so, for that reason, we have to celebrate this runner-up,” said the 39-year-old driver.

And even though Serra postponed his dream of another championship in 2024, Eurofarma RC Team had many reasons to celebrate. The team led by Rosinei Campos won the Team’s title for the 12th time. The Eurofarma RC Team gest 497 points added by the three-time champion duo Serra and Ricardo Maurício. Ipiranga A.Mattheis Racing, led by Andreas Mattheis and represented on the track by Thiago Camilo and César Ramos, was runner-up, with 470.

Drivers’s championship (Top10):

1. Gabriel Casagrande (#83): 308 points

2. Daniel Serra (#29): 296

3. Ricardo Zonta (#10): 280

4. Thiago Camilo (#16): 280

5. Felipe Fraga (#88): 265

6. Rafael Suzuki (#8): 263

7. Rubens Barrichello (#111): 260

8. Ricardo Maurício (#90): 231

9. Felipe Baptista (#121): 229

10. Felipe Massa (#19): 224

Team’s championship (Top10):

1. Eurofarma RC: 497 points

2. Ipiranga A.Mattheis Racing: 470

3. RCM Motorsport: 459

4. A.Mattheis/Vogel: 458

5. Pole Motorsport: 427

6. KTF Racing: 407

7. Lubrax Team: 400

8. Blau Motorsport: 387

9. Full Time Sports: 379

10. Mobil Ale Full Time: 367

All Stock Car champions: 1979: Paulo Gomes

1980: Ingo Hoffmann

1981: Afonso Giaffone

1982: Alencar Jr

1983: Paulo Gomes

1984: Paulo Gomes

1985: Ingo Hoffmann

1986: Marcos Gracia

1987: Zeca Giaffone

1988: Fábio Sotto Mayor

1989: Ingo Hoffmann

1990: Ingo Hoffmann

1991: Ingo Hoffmann / Ângelo Giombelli

1992: Ingo Hoffmann / Ângelo Giombelli

1993: Ingo Hoffmann / Ângelo Giombelli

1994: Ingo Hoffmann

1995: Paulo Gomes

1996: Ingo Hoffmann

1997: Ingo Hoffmann

1998: Ingo Hoffmann

1999: Chico Serra

2000: Chico Serra

2001: Chico Serra

2002: Ingo Hoffmann

2003: David Muffato

2004: Giuliano Losacco

2005: Giuliano Losacco

2006: Cacá Bueno

2007: Cacá Bueno

2008: Ricardo Maurício

2009: Cacá Bueno

2010: Max Wilson

2011: Cacá Bueno

2012: Cacá Bueno

2013: Ricardo Maurício

2014: Rubens Barrichello

2015: Marcos Gomes

2016: Felipe Fraga

2017: Daniel Serra

2018: Daniel Serra

2019: Daniel Serra

2020: Ricardo Maurício

2021: Gabriel Casagrande

2022: Rubens Barrichello

2023: Gabriel Casagrande


bottom of page