top of page

Felipe Massa wins in Stock Car

Former F1 driver gets his first victory since 2008

Pics: Duda Bairros Two races took place in 11th round of the 2023 Stock Car Pro Series season. One round before the end, in Cascavel, Paraná, Felipe Massa (#19) won a race again since November 2008, when he won the Formula 1 Brazilian GP with a Ferrari. In the first race on Sunday, Bruno Baptista (#44) started on pole and held off pressure from Daniel Serra (#29), who tried to overtake on the outside at the Bacião corner. In the back of the grid, candidates for a place in the Stock Car final: Rubens Barrichello (#111, former F1 driver started in P19), Felipe Fraga (#88 started in P22), Thiago Camilo (#21 started in P24) and Gabriel Casagrande (#83, leader of the championship started in P26) tried to overtake others drivers. During the pit stop window, Bruno Baptista returned to the track side by side with Daniel Serra, who had made his pit stop few laps earlier. Best for three-time champion, Daniel Serra. But, on the next lap, Baptista used his push to pass botton and left Serra behind.

It was Bruno Baptista's first victory in 2023, his fourth in the Stock Car Pro Series. “Yesterday’s pole position helped us achieve victory today. It was very tough because we started with the track still wet and running on slick tires. I know it was the same for everyone, but very difficult for all of us”, said Bruno. For Daniel, was a good result because his fight for the 2023 championship. Guilherme Salas was just behind Serra. Lucas Foresti (#12) started at the front in race 2. Felipe Massa, who started on the front row, put a lot of pressure on Foresti from the start. It didn't take long for the former Ferrari F1 driver to overtake Lucas and got the lead. In the pit stop window, Massa maintained the lead to the checkered flag. “The first victory is always special in any category. I remember in Formula 1 when I won in 2006 in Türkiye. And now we win here at Stock Car. The work was perfect, both mine and the team's in terms of strategy and tires. I’m reaaly happy! The race pace was very good here, especially in the second race, with the tires already old, and we achieved a wonderful result”, said Massa.

Pic: Luís França / P1 Media Relations Race 2 was not good for former F1 driver Rubens Barrichello and Thiago Camilo, who are fighting for this year's title. Both drivers abandoned this race. Another former F1 driver who competes in Stock Car, Ricardo Zonta put pressure on Ricardo Maurício for a place on the podium. The final laps were crazy. But the three-time Stock Car champion – that started this race from the back of the grid – held off Zonta and took a place on the podium, just behind Atila Abreu. Was na amazing result for Ricardo Maurício. Stock Car returns in December. The last stage will be on december 17th, in Interlagos, São Paulo.

Results of race 1 (Top10): 1. Bruno Baptista (RCM Motorsport/Toyota Corolla #44), 27 laps on 31min27s367 2. Daniel Serra (Eurofarma RC/Chevrolet Cruze #29) a 0s370 3. Guilherme Salas (KTF Racing/Chevrolet Cruze #85) a 6s726 4. Julio Campos (TMG Lubrax/Chevrolet Cruze #4) a 9s326 5. Felipe Baptista (KTF Racing/Chevrolet Cruze #121) a 11s341 6. Ricardo Zonta (RCM Motorsport/Toyota Corolla #10) a 11s582 7. Rafael Suzuki (Pole Motorsport/Chevrolet Cruze #8) a 11s977 8. Gaetano Di Mauro (Hot Car Competições/Chevrolet Cruze #11) a 12s795 9. Felipe Massa (TMG Lubrax/Chevrolet Cruze #19) a 13s422 10. Lucas Foresti (A.Mattheis-Vogel Motorsport/Chevrolet Cruze #12) a 13s793 Results of race 2 (Top10): 1. Felipe Massa (TMG Lubrax/Chevrolet Cruze #19), 28 laps on 31min15s173 2. Átila Abreu (Pole Motorsport/Chevrolet Cruze #51) a 5s663 3. Ricardo Maurício (Eurofarma RC/Chevrolet Cruze #90) a 6s717 4. Ricardo Zonta (RCM Motorsport/Toyota Corolla #10) a 7s332 5. Gaetano Di Mauro (Hot Car Competições/Chevrolet Cruze #11) a 8s208 6. Lucas Foresti (A.Mattheis-Vogel Motorsport/Chevrolet Cruze #12) a 10s213 7. Daniel Serra (Eurofarma RC/Chevrolet Cruze #29) a 11s458 8. Enzo Elias (Crown Racing/Toyota Corolla #28) a 13s058 9. Julio Campos (TMG Lubrax/Chevrolet Cruze #4) a 13s177 10. Felipe Baptista (KTF Racing/Chevrolet Cruze #121) a 13s426

Pic: Rodrigo Guimarães / RF1 Championship (still on the fight for the title): 1. Gabriel Casagrande (#83): 286 points

2. Daniel Serra (#29): 271

3. Felipe Fraga (#88): 253

4. Thiago Camilo (#16): 250 5. Rafael Suzuki (#8): 243

6. Rubens Barrichello (#111): 239

7. Ricardo Zonta (#10): 237


bottom of page